April’s Tea Runners Subscription – Review

It’s time for another tea review!! I know how excited you must be.

I received April’s Tea Runners subscription the second week of April and it promised me a tea that would taste like birthday cake. Yes!! But that would have to wait, since I decided to save the best for last (or at least I hoped it was the best.)

Orthodox Earl Grey –

As I was trying out my Peach Nectar Turmeric tea (reviewed in my second Whistling Kettle Review) all I could think about is how I wanted some Earl Grey. I had just received my new Tea Runners box and it had a bag of Orthodox Earl Grey inside. So after a few sips of the turmeric, I dumped it and made me some Earl Grey.

I don’t know if I was just happy to not be drinking the turmeric tea or what, but I loved this Earl Grey. It was so smooth and refreshing. I tasted all the flavor notes and they all melded together perfectly. Overall there isn’t much else to say because it was a simple Earl Grey but it was lovely.

IMG_0803IMG_0815IMG_0819

Creme De La Berry Green –

I was a little hesitant about this one because the last green tea I got from Tea Runners was a bust. I will say before and during the steeping process, Creme De La Berry Green smelled quite wonderful. You could smell the strawberries and chocolate. Even though it smelled wonderful, I was still a little apprehensive to try it.

The first sip, I did get more of a that bitter earthy green tea taste. But with the second sip I got the rest of the flavors and it was beautiful. The strawberry came through as the strongest flavor, but that didn’t bother me.  I loved it a lot. I think it’ll be even better when cold brewed.

IMG_0857IMG_0851IMG_0866

Black Masala –

The description on the sample bag, for Black Masala, kind of scared me with all the spices mentioned. I immediately thought that there was no way I would be able to drink this. I liked all those spices but not sure about it in a tea. I will admit that the smell was quite nice, so while a little scared I was also intrigued!

This is the second CTC tea that I’ve received from Tea Runners and I didn’t look it up before but CTC means “crush, tear, curl” or “cut, tear, curl.” It’s a way to process black tea in which the leaves are passed through a series of cylindrical rollers with hundreds of sharp teeth that crush, tear, and curl the tea into small, hard pellets. I loved the last CTC tea I received and this one was surprisingly quite good. The spices were a little strong but I did as it said on the package and added a little milk, and that made it so much better. It almost had a chai latte quality to it once the milk was added, which equals, “yum!”

IMG_0872IMG_0869IMG_0882

Winter Wonderland Rooibos – 

This is the one that supposedly tasted like birthday cake and I decided to leave it for last, to try on Easter morning. Kind of like an adult Easter treat!! The description sounded so lovely: Rooibos with cinnamon, hazelnuts and Bavarian chocolate. Almost sounds like it is a type of Nutella tea. The smell of course was heavenly.

While it steeped I could smell the hazelnuts, which I love the smell of hazelnuts. Tasting it was quite wonderful. It did kind of taste like cake. It was so beautiful, all the flavors melded together perfectly. It definitely was the best out of the box.

IMG_0900IMG_0893IMG_0908

Ratings:

1st – Winter Wonderland Rooibos

2nd – Orthodox Earl Grey

3rd – Creme De La Berry Green

4th – Black Masala

I really do love all these teas and I kind of hated rating them. I’m so happy with this month’s subscription, it was so much better than last month’s. You can purchase the Winter Wonderland Rooibos and the Creme De La Berry Green from Simpson & Vail (www.svtea.com). Which while looking at their site I discovered they have tons of teas I want to try. So now I have a new place to shop, yay!

I’m hoping to test out some Boba Tea soon but other than that it would probably be a while till the next tea review. I have a full box of tea that I need to get through. I think I kind of overdid it with all the tea purchases in the last month.

Till next time!!

Leave a comment