Whistling Kettle Review #3

I know that I said I wouldn’t have a tea review for a while but apparently I was mistaken once again. I ran out of my Tea Runners Earl Grey and my Whistling Kettle Earl Grey Cream. I’m obsessed with Earl Grey and I needed to buy some more! Since I was purchasing some more Earl Grey Cream (a big bag of it) from The Whistling Kettle, I decided maybe I should buy some new samples. I know I need to venture out and try new tea distributors, but I love Whistling Kettle’s teas so much.

 

Blend 1776

This is a black tea with strawberry and maple flavor notes. I decided to try this one first because in a way it intrigued me. At first it smelled very nice but then later when I smelled it, it wasn’t as nice, it wasn’t bad just different. The same is true while it was brewing. So I honestly didn’t know what I was getting.

I will say that it is a drinkable tea. It’s not necessarily a tea that I would rave about. The strawberry notes were there but there was also a slight bitterness to it. Honestly I can’t decide whether I like it or not, so that’s why I said it was drinkable. I’m seriously at a lost for words to describe what I think of Blend 1776.

Description: A thoughtful blend of Ceylon and Assam teas infused with strawberry and maple. 

Earl Grey Windemere

Earl Grey is normally a black tea, however this one was a mix of oolong and white tea with flavor notes of bergamot and vanilla. It smelled just like any other Earl Grey, which means delicious, but the taste was a little more floral. I’m not sure if it’s because of the white tea or not. Some sips tasted more perfume like and others tasted like any other Earl Grey. It all kind of threw off my taste buds and I just wasn’t sure if I enjoyed it. There were so many mixed emotions when drinking this tea. I don’t see myself purchasing this one again.

Description: Darjeeling oolong and white tea scented with bergamot and vanilla. 

Pomegranate Grape Sencha

This green tea was mixed with dried pomegranates and dried grapes. The smell was so beautiful and fruity! In my opinion the smell was worth the money I spent! Okay, not really, but it was a very nice aroma. As for the taste, it was delicious. I didn’t taste much of the tea, it really only tasted like hot pomegranate and grape water, which I kind of liked. It was a refreshing drink for sure and I would totally buy this again.

Description: Green tea, dried pomegranate, dried grapes

Cinnobun

I was so looking forward to this one because I love cinnamon rolls and this promised to taste like one. They didn’t fail me with the Oatmeal Raisin Cookie tea, so I had high hopes for this tea. Unfortunately those hopes were squashed fairly quickly. This had to be the worse tea I tasted from The Whistling Kettle and that kind of says a lot considering I love a lot of their teas, even the ones that I wasn’t a big fan of I still liked a little. There was no love for this tea, not even a little. One of my biggest issues with it was the weird aftertaste that didn’t leave my mouth all day, no matter what I drank, ate or even when I brushed my teeth multiple times. It was this weird cinnamon bitter taste and it drove me crazy. I may try this tea one more time but if it still tastes the same then I’m going to toss it and I hate to throw away tea even the ones that I don’t like. I’m so sad about this tea.

Description: The flavor and aroma of freshly baked cinnamon rolls. 

 

Well this round of Whistling Kettle samples, besides the Pomegranate Grape Sencha, was a bust. I guess there is a first time for everything. This is probably why my reviews of each are so short. It’s hard to write about stuff you just don’t care for.  I’m glad at least two of them are still drinkable even if I’m not a fan of them. This must be a sign that I need to get out and try knew tea distributors.

I learned not to say there won’t be a review for a while, so I won’t say it this time. I will say that I appreciate all of you that read my blog posts, even when you don’t care for tea or tv talk. It means a lot to me!

Till next time.

Leave a Reply

