Crossed Off the Netflix List

I’ve noticed that I don’t write much about what I’m currently watching or have watched recently. So this is the start of what I guess you could call a featured post series. I don’t know what technical term to use, but basically anytime I finish a tv series or catch up on a current season of a show offered on Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime and so on, I’ll write a “Crossed Off the List,” post to discuss any thoughts. I won’t talk about every show I watch, just the ones that need to be talked about. 

The People v. O.J. Simpson – American Crime Story

I want to start off saying that I’m actually surprised that my husband and I even watched this. One night we were trying to figure out what we were going to watch on TV and I threw out the names of the current shows we were watching but we were both pretty, “meh,” about each option. So I was scanning through Netflix, just naming off shows and then I jokingly said we should watch The People v. O.J. Simpson. My husband sincerely said we should. I was honestly surprised that he said yes but I hit play anyways kind of relieved that we landed on something.

We actually got addicted to it. Which is hilarious because we were both alive when the events depicted actually occurred. I lived in Japan at the time but I remember seeing bits and pieces on the news. I don’t know if this is because I saw it when I went to visit my mom back in the States or if the Air Force showed bits of the case, but I remember it. I remember my parents talking about it. I remember everyone talking about it. So you would think that watching The People v. O.J. Simpson would just be a repeat history lesson but it wasn’t.

I learned things about this case that I don’t think I ever knew. Things that I never saw in any behind the scenes documentary that I would watch years after the trial. For instance, I don’t remember Chris Darden, (co-prosecutor) being much of anything. I feel like anytime I saw court footage he just always seemed to be sitting there. Well Sterling K. Brown, who played Chris Darden, certainly showed me that there was a lot going on with Darden. He was going through so much internal struggle, people calling him horrible names because he was doing what he thought was right and constantly being goaded by Johnnie Cochran, played by Courtney B. Vance in the show. I felt so bad for him.

That being said, I felt even worse for Marcia Clark, played by Sarah Paulson. I remember when the events were playing out in real time, people were harsh towards Marcia. People would call her names and make comments about her appearance. I even developed a preconceived notion about her because of what others were saying when I was younger. But after watching this show, I now know that she was treated unfairly. People were so horrendous towards her and it made me sick. Even when she tried to lighten up her appearance, which she shouldn’t have had to do in the first place, people still found disrespectful things to say about her. The lawyers of the opposite sex were not treated like this at all. And to top it off, she had ex-husbands who were defaming her in public, saying she was a horrible mom or releasing nude photos of her on the beach. Who does that? It was awful.

Granted Johnnie Cochran also had exes coming out of the woodworks with offenses he made but I didn’t feel awful for him because he did some bad things, like domestic violence and having a secret child with his mistress while married to the woman who accused him of beating her. I also never realized that the defense team were at such odds with each other. It always seemed to me that they were just cool as cucumbers in all the videos I saw, but that wasn’t so. They were constantly at each others throats. I mean maybe I was too young to notice and others saw the tension when it was really going on, but I didn’t. 

I know that some of these issues were probably over dramatized for the television viewers, but I still feel that the show built on the core emotions, events and drama of the actual crime and trial. Overall I think it was good and I think if others are down for some kind of behind the scenes look at what was going on during this so called “trial of the century,” then they should check it out.

13 Reasons Why

This is a Netflix original TV series recently released. I remember the trailer looked interesting and I wanted to check it out. I was hooked within the first episode. Now I’m not going to go into too much about the show, like I did with the OJ show because there really isn’t a lot I can say that wouldn’t spoil it for others. The People v. O.J. Simpson was previously on FX before it was on Netflix and it’s part of history, so I figured most people know what went down, so no worries about spoilers, but that’s not the case with 13 Reasons Why.

I will tell you that this show was intriguing but at the same time I could barely watch it. There were so many emotions rushing through me while watching 13 Reasons Why and it was quite overwhelming. I couldn’t watch too many episodes in a row at one time. It broke my heart because I felt that it was a true, maybe slightly exaggerated, representation of what teens are going through nowadays. I’m so glad that I didn’t going through my teen years during the days of social media but I’m scared for my own children. I feel like everyone should watch this show to kind of open their eyes to what are the issues teens are dealing with and maybe even learn from the show. I also feel like teens should watch it just so they can maybe prepare themselves for certain scenarios they may get caught up in. But overall everyone should watch it because it touches on the rough subject of suicide, something that we all need to be more aware of as far as signs and causes. 

Check it out but prepare yourself for an emotional rollercoaster. 

Well those are the two shows that I’ve finished or caught up on, on Netflix. Give me your opinions if you’ve watched either of these shows. 

What I’m watching now on Netflix: 

Currently I’m catching up on Grace and Frankie! And occasionally I re-watch episodes from Buffy, Supernatural or Bob’s Burgers, when I don’t feel like watching something new.

Till next time!

5 thoughts on “Crossed Off the Netflix List

  1. I have O.J. on my list too and I finished 13 Reasons Why the week before last. I thought it was a pretty good portrayal of high school. One of the best I’ve ever seen actually. A lot of scenes really hit home for me personally. My husband and I watched it with my teenage daughter, which then opened up discussions about the topics touched on in the series. I was intrigued to hear that they’re making a Season 2.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t remember high school being so intense but I remember some of the same underlying issues. I think that watching it with your teenage daughter is the best thing you could have done. It’s a discussion all teenagers should be having with their parents.

      Like

      1. High school was kind of rough. I’m so glad we didn’t have social media back then. Word of mouth rumors were bad enough. Fun Fact: While watching the show, Hannah Baker’s hair and face reminded me of you in high school. Her working at the movie theater made the connection stand out more to me for some reason.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I remember having rough patches. Rumors were the worse. I tell everyone I’m so glad we didn’t have social media in high school. Bullying nowadays just seems so much more alive and ridiculous because of social media. Man, I wish I had hair like her! I did work at a movie theater in college and would have totally worked at one in high school if I could have. So yeah, there’s a connection

        Like

      3. The high school theme, her face shape, her long brown hair and knowing you worked at the movie theater all jumbled together in my head while watching it, so you kept coming to mind.

        My daughter isn’t too active on the more common social media sites, but I’ve tried to prepare her what she should expect and how to handle it. I try to be honest with her.

        Like

Leave a Reply

