Letting Loose…Leaf Tea

FYI – I’m trying to win a trophy for the worst blog post titles. There’s a trophy, right? Medal? Award certificate? I’m sure whatever it is I’d win it!

Did you know that drinking tea is like drinking a tiny cup full of miracle drugs? That’s what I’ve been told and have read. All teas have some form of health benefit hidden within its earthiness, but rooibos (roy-bos) tea is like the Superman of teas. It’s an herbal tea that can prevent heart disease, strengthen bones, ease pain, relieve stress, help skin issues and so on. I’m not going to go into full detail, so you should definitely look it up and be impressed!

I bought some rooibos tea this past weekend. I found a local tea shop located in downtown Greenville (South Carolina)  and it was a lovely place run by a mother and daughter. To be honest I felt completely out of my realm.  I know it’s just tea, but the options were a little overwhelming. The youngest of the owners was nice enough to explain each tea to me, which I’m not going to lie most of it went in one ear and out the other, but when she got to rooibos tea I was impressed and snapped out of my daze. She described all the health benefits and at that moment Tina Fey’s voice popped in my head and said, “I want to go to there.”

In order to pick which flavor tea I was going to purchase, I had to smell them all.  This is something I have always felt was a little weird, smelling things at a store that others have stuck their noses in. It kind of gives me the creeps but I sniffed the tea. There were tons of flavors I wanted but at $12.95 a bag I had to limit myself to one bag. So I chose Bon Bon Bonita because of its beautiful aroma.

Here’s what’s mixed in:

img_7934
Along with this tea and a chai latte, I was off on my merry way, ready to experience loose leaf tea. Right before I left the tea lady said, “Trying loose leaf tea is like if you ate frozen vegetables all your life then you try fresh vegetables.” So I was curious to see if she was right…and yes I did forget her name.

The next morning I set up my Tea Forte cup with infuser and sprinkled in about two teaspoons of my Bon Bon. As it steeped, the aroma was heavenly and that five minutes felt like six minutes.


Now I will say that the taste was not as powerful as the aroma but it still tasted wonderful. So wonderful that I had another cup later in the day around lunch. I just couldn’t stop thinking about how delicious and calming it was to drink.

Unfortunately I didn’t end up super skinny five minutes after drinking it and I also did not obtain the immortality of a Greek god but it was still a nice tea. And yes loose leaf is far more superior than a tea bag but it is kind of inconvenient, so I’ll keep the bags around.

Yay for first time experiences!

The next time I post anything about my tea journey will hopefully be when I receive my Tea Runners subscription. Super excited for that.

If you’re ever in Greenville, South Carolina, and you like tea, check out Chasing Rabbits Tea Company! They also do Boba Tea (Bubble Tea) if that’s your thing, it kind of frightens me and I have yet to work up the courage to try it.


(You’d think I would’ve taken a picture of the store but no I took a picture of Main Street. Can we say rookie?!)

Got tea advice? TV/movie/book topics? Email me at tvandteablog@gmail.com

6 thoughts on “Letting Loose…Leaf Tea

  1. You definitely caught my attention. Now you have me wanting to try loose tea. Sounds heavenly. I also think it’s great you conquered your fear and took the big leap to try something new. I will look forward to your future blogs.
    BTW…. I love the name; very creative!
    You go girl!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greenville is such a neat town! I’m not a big tea drinker but the flavor profile of the one you picked sounds lovely. I’m curios how it tastes cold. Let me know if you try it!

    Like

    1. Tea is not for everyone, I totally understand that. I’ve had some teas before that taste awful, you just got to find the best one for you. Granted that’s what people tell me about coffee and I’ve tried tons of variations of coffee and still dislike it. Lol. I plan to try this tea cold very soon. I’ll definitely let you know how it tastes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

